Skip to main content



While a few programs are only open to ACM students, both the Newberry Seminar and the Oak Ridge Science Semester are open to students from any college. Colleges that are not members of the ACM consortium may wish to pursue affiliation with particular ACM off-campus study programs, which can provide a variety of benefits. For more details, please visit the Program Affiliate information page.


Associated Colleges of the South (ACS)

A consortium of 16 private liberal arts colleges and universities located in the South. The member institutions are Birmingham-Southern College, Centenary College of Louisiana, Centre College, Davidson College, Furman University, Hendrix College, Millsaps College, Morehouse College, Rhodes College, Rollins College, Sewanee: The University of the South, Southwestern University, Spelman College, Trinity University, University of Richmond, and Washington and Lee University.

Big Ten Academic Alliance

A consortium of the 14 research universities in the Big Ten Conference. With funding from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the ACM and the Big Ten Academic Alliance are collaborating on the Undergraduate and Faculty Fellows Program for a Diverse Professoriate, an initiative to address barriers to faculty diversity in the humanities, humanistic social sciences, and arts, especially in the context of liberal arts colleges.

Great Lakes Colleges Association (GLCA)

A consortium of 13 liberal arts colleges including Albion College, Allegheny College, Antioch College, Denison University, DePauw University, Earlham College, Hope College, Kalamazoo College, Kenyon College, Oberlin College, Ohio Wesleyan University, Wabash College, and The College of Wooster.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

Established in 1962, ICPSR is the world's largest archive of digital social science data. ICPSR acquires, preserves, and distributes original research data and provides training in its analysis. The organization also offers access to publications based on its data holdings.


The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

The Foundation's grantmaking philosophy is to build, strengthen and sustain institutions and their core capacities, rather than be a source for narrowly defined projects. As such, it develops thoughtful, long-term collaborations with grant recipients and invests sufficient funds for an extended period to accomplish the purpose at hand and achieve meaningful results.

The Arthur Vining Davis Foundations

The Arthur Vining Davis Foundations were organized in 1952 under a living trust established by the foundation's namesake. They bear witness to Mr. Davis' successful corporate leadership acumen and his visionary, entrepeneurial spirit in philanthropy. The Foundations have funded visionary leadership in public television for scientific and historical documentaries, children's programming, and the distribution of high quality educational media.

Henry Luce Foundation

The Henry Luce Foundation

The Henry Luce Foundation seeks to bring important ideas to the center of American life, strengthen international understanding, and foster innovation and leadership in academic, policy, religious and art communities. The Luce Foundation pursues its mission today through the following grant-making programs: American Art; Asia; Luce Scholars; Theology; Higher Education; the Henry R. Luce Initiative on Religion in International Affairs; Public Policy; and the Clare Boothe Luce Program for women in science, mathematics and engineering.

The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation

The MacArthur Foundation supports creative people and effective institutions committed to building a more just, verdant, and peaceful world. In addition to selecting the MacArthur Fellows, we work to defend human rights, advance global conservation and security, make cities better places, and understand how technology is affecting children and society.

The Spencer Foundation

The Spencer Foundation has been a leading funder of education research since 1971 and is the only national foundation focused exclusively on supporting education research. The Spencer Foundation believes education research is integral to improving education, making education systems more equitable, and increasing opportunities to learn across the lifespan. They seek to support education research that is rigorous, relevant, equitable, collaborative, and transformative. 

The Teagle Foundation

The Teagle Foundation provides leadership for liberal education, marshalling the intellectual and financial resources necessary to ensure that today's students have access to challenging, wide-ranging, and enriching college educations. The Foundation believes that the benefits of such learning last for a lifetime and are best achieved when colleges develop broad and intellectually stimulating curricula, engage their students in active learning, explore questions of deep social and personal significance, set clear goals, and—crucially—systematically measure progress toward them.


Center of Inquiry in the Liberal Arts at Wabash College

The Center of Inquiry in the Liberal Arts collaborates with institutions to gather and use evidence to strengthen liberal arts education. The Center works together with faculty, staff, administrators, and researchers at liberal arts institutions across the country on two core projects: the Wabash National Study of Liberal Arts Education and providing assessment support  to liberal arts institutions.

Chicago Humanities Festival

Chicago Humanities Festival

The Chicago Humanities Festival celebrates ideas in the context of civic life. Each fall, the festival brings together novelists, scholars, musicians, archaeologists, historians, artists, performers, playwrights, theologians, poets, architects, policy makers, and others — both established and emerging talents — to offer performances, screenings, exhibits, and discussions on a theme of universal interest.

Field Museum

The Chicago Field Museum fuels a journey of discovery across time to enable solutions for a brighter future rich in nature and culture. Since opening the museum in 1894, with a collection grown out of the 1893 World's Columbian Exposition, the museum has delighted visitors and engaged researchers with exhibits featuring a wide array of natural wonders and cultural artifacts.

Newberry Library

The Newberry Library supports and inspires research, teaching, and learning in the humanities. Since its founding in 1887, the Newberry has given individuals the opportunity to engage with collections, reading rooms, exhibition galleries, program spaces, classrooms, online digital resources, and staff as they discover stories that bridge the past and present and learn to engage critically within a vibrant democratic society.

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Oak Ridge National Laboratory is the largest US Department of Energy science and energy laboratory, conducting basic and applied research to deliver transformative solutions to compelling problems in energy and security. The Laboratory supports the DOE's national missions of scientific discovery, clean energy, and security through industry leadership and research around neutrons, computing, materials, and nuclear technologies.