Skip to main content

2017 Annual Summit

Undergraduate and Faculty Fellows Program for a Diverse Professoriate

August 15-18, 2017 in Chicago, IL

Co-sponsored by the ACM, the Big Ten Academic Alliance, and the University of Chicago

Summit agenda

Held at The Flats at East-West University, 829 S. Wabash Avenue

Tuesday, August 15

3:00 p.m. - Welcome and Introductions (GSEF Cohort 2)

• Lilly Lavner, Liaison for the Fellows Program to Diversify the Professoriate, ACM
Candace Jordan, Doctoral Student in Religion, Princeton University

5:15 p.m. - An Overview of GSEF and Other ACM Programs (GSEF Cohort 2)

ACM Office, 11 E. Adams Street

Katie Rose Brosnan, Senior Campus Outreach Coordinator, ACM
Julie Lucas, Campus Outreach Coordinator, ACM
Marlee Stein, Off-Campus Study Program Coordinator, ACM

6:00 p.m. - Dinner and evening activities

Wednesday, August 16

8:15 - 9:00 a.m. - Breakfast Available

9:00 a.m. - Keynote Address (GSEF Cohort 2)

Moderator: Brian Williams, Vice President and Director, Faculty Development and Grant Programs, ACM
Keynote speaker: Brian A. Burt, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, School of Education, Iowa State University

10:00 a.m. - Break

10:15 a.m. - Graduate Student Panel (for GSEF Cohort 2)

This session will feature current graduate students sharing about their experiences in graduate school and undergraduate research programs.

Moderator: Brian A. Burt
Alade McKen, M.S. Ed., Doctoral Student and Research Assistant in Social and Cultural Studies, School of Education, Iowa State University
José Ángel Navejas, M.A., Doctoral Student in Hispanic Literary and Cultural Studies, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, University of Illinois at Chicago
Jaelyn Peiso, Doctoral Student in Impression Formation Social Neuroscience, Department of Psychology, University of Chicago
Joy Sales, Doctoral Student in History, Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences, Northwestern University

Noon - 2:00 p.m. - Lunch

1:30 p.m. - Mixer: Culture Bingo (GSEF and Faculty Fellows)

Co-facilitators: Lilly Lavner and Candace Jordan

2:30 p.m. - Break

2:45 p.m. - Welcome Back (GSEF Cohort 1)

Facilitator: Lilly Lavner

2:45 p.m. - The Complexity of Identity (GSEF Cohort 2)

Stephanie Hicks, Ph.D., Lecturer, Program on Intergroup Relations, University of Michigan
Laxmi Shastry, M.A., Program Manager, Program on Intergroup Relations, University of Michigan

4:00 p.m. - Faculty Fellows Meeting

Facilitator: Brian Williams

4:15 p.m. - Affinity Group Break Outs (GSEF)

Stephanie Hicks
Emilia Chico, M.Ed., Doctoral Student in Educational Psychology, University of Illinois at Chicago
Tianna Cervantez, A.M., Director of the Center for Intercultural Life and Lecturer in Anthropology and Sociology, Knox College
Jesse Carr, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Fellow, GSEF and Mellon Decolonizing Pedagogies Program, Beloit College
Laxmi Shastry
José Ángel Navejas

6:00 p.m. - Dinner at Revival Food Hall (GSEF)

7:30 p.m. - SROP Experience (GSEF)

Co-facilitators: Lilly Lavner and Candace Jordan

8:30 p.m. - Evening activities

Thursday, August 17

8:15 a.m. - Photos (GSEF Cohort 1)

8:15 - 9:30 a.m. - Breakfast

9:30 a.m. - GSEF Poster Presentations, Groups A1-A4

Stephanie Jones, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Education, Grinnell College
Prentiss A. Dantzler II, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Sociology, Colorado College
Jennifer Jhun, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Philosophy, Lake Forest College
Shadee Malaklou, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Critical Identity Studies, Beloit College

10:30 a.m. - Break

11:00 a.m. - GSEF Poster Presentations, Groups B1-B4

Thelma B. Jiménez-Anglada, Assistant Professor, Department of Spanish, Lawrence University
Prentiss A. Dantzler II
Jennifer Jhun
Crystal Moten, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of History, Macalester College

12:15 p.m. - Lunch

12:30 p.m. - Photos (GSEF Cohort 1)

1:45 p.m. - Chicago Sightseeing Trip

Groups going to: Art Institute of Chicago, Newberry Library, DuSable Museum of African American History, National Museum of Mexican Art, National Museum of Puerto Rican Arts & Culture

2:00 p.m. - SROP Coordinator/GSEF Contact Meeting

6:15 p.m. - Dinner at Tapas Valencias and evening activities

Friday, August 18

8:00 a.m. - Breakfast

9:30 a.m. - GSEF Poster Presentations, Groups C1-C4

Discussants: Stephanie Jones, Crystal Moten, Thelma B. Jiménez-Anglada, and Shadee Malaklou

10:30 a.m. - Break

11:00 a.m. - Summer Research Experiences Across the Big Ten Academic Alliance (GSEF)

Moderator: Joseph Miller, Program Manager, Academic Programs, Big Ten Academic Alliance

Noon - Lunch

Noon - Group Photos by College

1:30 p.m. - Applying to Graduate School (GSEF)

Celina Chatman Nelson, Director, UChicagoGRAD Development & Diversity, University of Chicago
Elise LaRose, Academic Adviser, Office of the Dean of Students in the College and Director of Mellon Mays Initiatives, Office of the Vice Provost for Academic Advancement, Leadership, & Diversity, University of Chicago
Nicole Truesdell, Ph.D., Senior Director of Academic Diversity and Inclusiveness and Assistant Professor of Anthropology, Beloit College

2:30 p.m. - Break

2:45 p.m. - Applying to Graduate School Intensive Writing Workshop (GSEF Cohort 1)

2:45 p.m. - Looking to the Future: Why Pursue a Career in Academia? (GSEF Cohort 2)

Moderator: Rafael Zapata, Associate Vice President and Chief Diversity Officer, Office of Institutional Diversity, Providence College

Miguel de Baca, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Art History and Department Chair, Chair of American Studies, Lake Forest College
Claudia Fernández, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Modern Languages-Spanish, Knox College
VaNatta Ford, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Africana Studies, Williams College
David Omotoso Stovall, Ph.D., Professor of Educational Policy Studies and African-American Studies, University of Illinois at Chicago

4:00 p.m. - GSEF Cohort 2 Wrap Up

Facilitator: Lilly Lavner

4:00 p.m. - GSEF Cohort 1 Wrap Up

Co-facilitators: Candace Jordan and Olivia Cunningham, Program Coordinator of Faculty Development and Grant Programs, ACM

6:15 p.m. - Faculty Dinner

Saturday, August 19

9:00 a.m. - Faculty Fellows Meeting

Moderators: Rafael Zapata and VaNatta Ford