Skip to main content

Contacts

ACM Program Coordinator

Questions?

Our Special Projects Coordinator can answer most questions about the program or will put you in touch with someone who can!

Michael Vertovec

312.561.5934
mvertovec@acm.edu
Associated Colleges of the Midwest
11 E. Adams Street, Suite 800
Chicago, IL 60603

As a recognized Great Lakes Colleges Association (GLCA) program, the Newberry Seminar qualifies for special GLCA campus considerations for pricing and financial aid.


Student Ambassadors

Want to know what it’s actually like to study away?

From picking a program to packing a bag, ACM’s Off-Campus Study Ambassadors have done it all and are happy to answer your questions. Connect with an ambassador on your campus or one from another college, and learn how you can have your own unforgettable off-campus study experience.

  • Tristan Draper, Coe College
    Major: English, gender & sexuality studies
    tmdraper@coe.edu
    “My favorite memory from studying off-campus at the Newberry Library in Chicago happened when I got to see the Broadway cast of Les Miserables perform at the Cadillac Palace Theater in downtown Chicago. I had never seen a live Broadway musical before, and since I was in Chicago it seemed like the perfect time to see one! I had so much fun watching a live performance of a musical that I really like! And afterwards we went and got donuts at Do-Rite Donuts, which made the night even better!”

  • Anh Nguyen, Earlham College
    Major: History, philosophy
    nquynhanh2.earlham@gmail.com
    “I am profoundly grateful for the encouragement and respect I received from library staff, as well as the opportunity to discuss my topic with other scholars, which gave me the confidence and courage to fully engage myself in intellectual exploration.”

  • Nikki Lewis, St. Olaf College
    Majors: Sociology/anthropology, women’s and gender studies
    lewis1@stolaf.edu
    Favorite memory from the Newberry: Meeting and hearing Angela Davis speak at the University of Chicago a week after the 2016 presidential election.


Faculty Advisors

How do ACM's courses and credits fit with your academic plan?

Credits are pre-approved at ACM schools. Talk to the program faculty advisor on your campus to learn more.

  1. Albion College
    Deborah Kanter dkanter@albion.edu
  2. Albion College
    Deborah Kanter dkanter@albion.edu
  3. Allegheny College
    David Miller dmiller@allegheny.edu
  4. Beloit College
    Ellen Joyce joycee@beloit.edu
  5. Carleton College
    Victoria Morse vmorse@carleton.edu
  6. Carleton College
    Kristi Wermager kwermage@carleton.edu
  7. Coe College
    Brie Swenson Arnold barnold@coe.edu
  8. Colorado College
    Carol Neel cneel@coloradocollege.edu
  9. Cornell College
    James Martin jmartin@cornellcollege.edu
  10. Denison University
    Adam Davis davisaj@denison.edu
  11. DePauw University
    Barbara Whitehead whitehea@depauw.edu
  12. Earlham College
    Jonathan Diskin jond@earlham.edu
  13. Grinnell College
    Mike Guenther guenthmb@grinnell.edu
  14. Gustavus Adolphus College
    Annika Ericksen aerickse@gustavus.edu
  15. Hope College
    Anne Heath heath@hope.edu
  16. Kalamazoo College
    Heather Garcia hgarcia@kzoo.edu
  17. Kenyon College
    Glenn McNair mcnairg@kenyon.edu
  18. Knox College
    Gregory Gilbert ggilbert@knox.edu
  19. Lake Forest College
    Richard Pettengill pettengi@lakeforest.edu
  20. Lawrence University
    Beth Zinsli beth.a.zinsli@lawrence.edu
  21. Luther College
    Robert Christman chriro05@luther.edu
  22. Macalester College
    Brian Lush blush@macalester.edu
  23. McKendree University
    Martha Patterson mhpatterson@mckendree.edu
  24. Monmouth College
    Marlo Belschner mmb@monmouthcollege.edu
  25. Oberlin College
    Laura Baudot lbaudot@oberlin.edu
  26. Oberlin College
    Laura Baudot lbaudot@oberlin.edu
  27. Rhodes College
    Scott Newstock newstoks@rhodes.edu
  28. Ripon College
    Ann Pleiss Morris PleissMorrisA@ripon.edu
  29. St. Olaf College
    Jonathan Naito naito@stolaf.edu
  30. The College of Idaho
    Susan Schaper sschaper@collegeofidaho.edu
  31. The College of Wooster
    Jean Lee jealee@wooster.edu
  32. Wabash College
    Gilberto Gomez gomezg@wabash.edu

Off-Campus Study Offices

Need help preparing for off-campus study?

Contact your college’s Off-Campus Study/Study Abroad Office.