Skip to main content

Contacts

ACM Program Coordinator

Questions?

Our Off-Campus Study Program Coordinator can answer most questions about the program or will put you in touch with someone who can!

Marlee Stein

312.561.5933
mstein@acm.edu
Associated Colleges of the Midwest
11 E. Adams Street, Suite 800
Chicago, IL 60603


Student Ambassadors

Want to know what it’s actually like to study away?

From picking a program to packing a bag, ACM’s Off-Campus Study Ambassadors have done it all and are happy to answer your questions. Connect with an ambassador on your campus or one from another college, and learn how you can have your own unforgettable off-campus study experience.

  • Gabby Rudolph, Emory University
    Majors: Neuroscience and behavioral biology
    grudol2@emory.edu
    "One of my favorite moments from studying abroad just so happened to be the second day we were all together as a program! Looking back on my experience as a whole, this day stood out as we split into teams, donned old brightly colored soccer jerseys, and helplessly kicked and ran about – trying to cheer eachother on in broken Spanish and English, and all the while motivated by our competitive nature to win. I look back on this mejenga as one of my favorite memories because it set the tone for the rest of the program: hard work, having fun while still being challenged, and a ACM dynamic between students and staff of nothing but love, respect, and friendship."

  • Yula Pinto, Lake Forest College
    Majors: Environmental studies and Spanish
    pintoyt@mx.lakeforest.edu

  • Yvette Ramirez, Lake Forest College
    Major: Biology
    ramirezy@lfc.edu
    “My favorite memory was when I went to visit Manuel Antonio, an amazing national park in Quepos, Costa Rica. There was a hammock outside on the balcony of the Airbnb I was staying in so I decided to relax there for a while. I then received a text message from the host letting me know I should look outside. I stood up to see a family of monkeys walking on power lines to get over to the forest across the street. After the monkeys left, I noticed two beautiful macaws sitting on a branch and watched as they flew right past me. It was amazing to be so close to the home of so many amazing animals and be able to see them in their natural habitat.”

  • Emma Fredrickson, Lawrence University
    Majors: Studio art; art history; Spanish; museum studies
    emma.k.fredrickson@lawrence.edu
    Favorite memory from Costa Rica: Hiking through La Selva Biological Station and meeting artist Jose Sancho.

  • Sophie Slocum, Monmouth College
    Major: Biopsychology for occupational therapy
    sslocum@monmouthcollege.edu
    "One day I decided to do a day trip on my own. I was staying at a hostel with friends and took off to visit a hot springs resort. While there, I met so many different people from around the world, tried out all different kinds of hot springs and cool pools, and hiked 3 miles up the mountains to an observatory to view the Arenal Volcano. It was perhaps the most breathtaking and awesome moment in my life."

  • Andrea Jorissen, St. Olaf College
    Major: Chemistry
    joriss1@stolaf.edu
    "My favorite memory from Costa Rica was when I went on a research trip with my research advisor’s Ecotoxicology class. My Spanish was pretty rusty, I had only been in Costa Rica for a couple weeks, and I didn’t know anyone that was going on the trip. The thought of it was terrifying, but I decided to go anyways. This trip ended up being one of the coolest experiences of my time abroad. We took our bags onto a little boat and cruised down the river for about an hour until we hit this little research station hidden away in the jungle. We learned about different sampling methods, native wildlife, and current research being conducted at the site. Even though the thought of the trip was intimidating, the actual trip was an incredible experience."


Faculty Advisors

How do ACM's courses and credits fit with your academic plan?

Credits are pre-approved at ACM schools. Talk to the program faculty advisor on your campus to learn more.

  1. Albion College
    Kyle Shanton kshanton@albion.edu
  2. Amherst College
    Rachel Levin rlevin@amherst.edu
  3. Beloit College
    Jennifer Esperanza esperanj@beloit.edu
  4. Carleton College
    Mark McKone mmckone@carleton.edu
  5. Coe College
    Harlo Hadow hhadow@coe.edu
  6. Colorado College
    Marc Snyder msnyder@coloradocollege.edu
  7. Cornell College
    Marty Condon mcondon@cornellcollege.edu
  8. Emory University
    Peggy Barlett antpfb@emory.edu
  9. Grinnell College
    Yvette Aparicio aparicio@grinnell.edu
  10. Grinnell College
    Kathy Jacobson jacobsok@grinnell.edu
  11. Hope College
    Tom Bultman bultmant@hope.edu
  12. Knox College
    Julio Noriega jnoriega@knox.edu
  13. Lake Forest College
    Lynn Westley westley@mx.lakeforest.edu
  14. Lawrence University
    Jodi Sedlock jodi.sedlock@lawrence.edu
  15. Luther College
    Eric Baack baacer01@luther.edu
  16. Macalester College
    Devavani Chatterjea chatterjead@macalester.edu
  17. Monmouth College
    Ken Cramer kenc@monmouthcollege.edu
  18. Oberlin College
    Baron Pineda baron.pineda@oberlin.edu
  19. Ripon College
    Soren Hauge hauges@ripon.edu
  20. St. Olaf College
    Kathy Shea sheak@stolaf.edu
  21. The College of Idaho
    Chris Walser cwalser@collegeofidaho.edu
  22. The College of Wooster
    Katherine Holt kholt@wooster.edu
  23. Washington and Lee University
    Larry Hurd hurdl@wlu.edu

Off-Campus Study Offices

Need help preparing for off-campus study?

Contact your college’s Off-Campus Study/Study Abroad Office.