Skip to main content

Contacts

ACM Program Coordinator

Questions?

Our Special Projects Coordinator can answer most questions about the program or will put you in touch with someone who can!

Michael Vertovec

312.561.5934
mvertovec@acm.edu
Associated Colleges of the Midwest
11 E. Adams Street, Suite 800
Chicago, IL 60603


Student Ambassadors

Want to know what it’s actually like to study away?

From picking a program to packing a bag, ACM’s Off-Campus Study Ambassadors have done it all and are happy to answer your questions. Connect with an ambassador on your campus or one from another college, and learn how you can have your own unforgettable off-campus study experience.

  • Hannah Robertson, Cornell College
    Major: English Literature
    Hrobertson18@cornellcollege.edu
    "One of my favorite memories is walking down Madina Al-Monawara with my host sister with ice cream and talking about anything and everything that came to mind as we made our way up and down the street. It was getting towards the evening, and I enjoyed watching the busy street light up as dusk fell, and seeing all the different people who were coming to the street for food and friends."

  • Maureen Lincke, Knox College
    Major: Political science, education
    melincke@knox.edu

  • Karen Lynch, Knox College
    Major: International relations
    klynch@knox.edu
    "I sat, legs curled underneath me on the couch, pillow in my lap, and listened to the conversation of my host family. Baba and Mama, my host parents, sat on the other two couches in the warm glow of the living room. Mama had just jokingly scolded Baba for once again trying to “cheers” with his Turkish coffee, the tiny delicate cup looking like a child’s play teacup in his hand as he chuckled and winked at me and Monica (my roommate and honorary sister on the program). Soon, conversation turned to how our classes were going- we’d only just started-and Monica and I pulled out our notebooks and showed our host parents all the letters and phrases we were learning so far. Baba immediately asked us if we knew how to spell our names in Arabic. Neither of us did yet, so he took the time to show us how to write it out, both our first and last names. As we familiarized ourselves with the swoops and lines of the Arabic letters, our host brother, Nabeel, returned home. He came into the living room, all smiles, and sat across from Monica and I, next to Mama. We spent that evening all chatting together; drinking tea and Turkish coffee. Many evenings were spent in such a fashion when I stayed in Jordan, yet this one in particular will always be one of my favorite memories from studying abroad."

  • Monica Weller, Knox College
    Major: International Relations
    mtweller@knox.edu
    "My favorite memory in Jordan was when I spent the day wandering around Amman with friends, and we ended up being invited for tea and spent an hour talking to security guards inside their station." 

  • Emma Standen, St. Olaf College
    Majors: Studio art; religion; Middle Eastern studies
    stande1@stolaf.edu
    Favorite memory from Jordan: Joining a local choir, Dozan wa Awtar, and hiking in the Dana Biosphere.

  • Sarah Schweyen, St. Olaf College
    Major: Psychology
    schwey1@stolaf.edu


Faculty Advisors

How do ACM's courses and credits fit with your academic plan?

Credits are pre-approved at ACM schools. Talk to the program faculty advisor on your campus to learn more.

  1. Beloit College
    Beth Dougherty doughert@beloit.edu
  2. Carleton College
    Yaron Klein yklein@carleton.edu
  3. Coe College
    Julie Fairbanks jfairbanks@coe.edu
  4. Cornell College
    Devan Baty dbaty@cornellcollege.edu
  5. Grinnell College
    Caleb Elfenbein elfenbei@grinnell.edu
  6. Grinnell College
    Mervat Youssef youssef@grinnell.edu
  7. Knox College
    Katie Adelsberger kadelsbe@knox.edu
  8. Lake Forest College
    Ahmad Sadri sadri@lakeforest.edu
  9. Lawrence University
    Martyn Smith martyn.smith@lawrence.edu
  10. Luther College
    Robert Shedinger shedinro@luther.edu
  11. Macalester College
    Brett Wilson mwilson5@macalester.edu
  12. Macalester College
    Khaldoun Samman samman@macalester.edu
  13. Monmouth College
    Petra Kuppinger petra@monmouthcollege.edu
  14. Ripon College
    Michael Mahoney mahoneym@ripon.edu
  15. St. Olaf College
    Robert McClure mcclure@stolaf.edu

Off-Campus Study Offices

Need help preparing for off-campus study?

Contact your college’s Off-Campus Study/Study Abroad Office.