Skip to main content

2020 Contest

Ruby Elliot Zuckerman

Ruby Elliot Zuckerman from Macalester College was named winner of the 48th annual Nick Adams Short Story Contest for her short story "scott disick sucks". 

The winning story was chosen from six finalist stories by judge Scott Turow, bestselling author of eleven novels and two works of nonfiction. Turow also gave honorable mention recognition to "Las Hermanas Grimm" by Bea Chihak of Macalaster College.

Ruby Elliot Zuckerman

Winner: "scott disick sucks" by Ruby Elliot Zuckerman

Ruby Elliot Zuckerman, from Los Angeles, CA, is majoring in creative writing and studio art at Macalester College.

Bea Chihak

Honorable Mention: "Las Hermanas Grimm" by Bea Chihak

Bea Chihak, a senior at Macalester College, finds that "writing and storytelling are deeply rooted in community. They can build and strengthen community. They can nourish love and bring about change."

From left: Mica Bahn, Astin Campbell, Franziska Hofhansel, Olivia Humphreys


Thirty-seven stories were entered in the 2020 Nick Adams Contest through the English departments on ACM campuses, with each campus allowed to enter up to four stories in the competition.

Associate Professor of English Joshua Corey from Lake Forest College and Assistant Professor of English Natanya Pulley from Colorado College served as initial faculty readers, choosing six finalist stories which were sent to Turow for judging. The finalists were:

Final Judge: Scott Turow

Scott Turow

Author and lawyer Scott Turow served as final judge for the 48th annual Nick Adams Short Story Contest.  

Scott Turow is the bestselling author of eleven novels and two works of nonfiction, which have sold more than thirty million copies worldwide.  He has contributed numerous essays and op-ed pieces to The New York Times, The Washington Post, Vanity Fair, The New Yorker, and The Atlantic.